Home > Classes, Community > Adult Learners’ Newsletter

Adult Learners’ Newsletter

Learners at Cothrom are getting organised, and have decided to produce a quarterly newsletter. It’s nice to see ESOL learner Marie’s story from Barra featured in the first edition. It is reproduced below, but you can see the whole newsletter by clicking on this link. Maybe a Gaelic learner will write something for the next issue?

Marie’s Story

“Since 2004, I have been living on Barra, but originally I am from the Czech Republic. I came here to learn English and to work, but this has all changed as I now have a little boy who will be three in July. I have done many different jobs; at the fish-factory, helping my friend with baking/catering at the airport, at the Co-op, evening-work in a bar, cleaning for self-catering and cockle-picking. I will try almost anything! Currently I had found work as a relief Clerical School Assistant, but because of the difficulty of finding childcare, I have not been able to do this.

I have studied ESOL Int. 2 at Cothrom and ECDL through Lews Castle College. Now I am going for an interview for a UHI Business Course.”

Categories: Classes, Community
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

